UKSF inspired airsoft

I guess it is time for a ‘small’ update. I’ve been building this kit for some time now and I feel that it is ready for the public. First shots were taken during the holidays and to my eye, they look really good. I will remind you all that this is airsoft and I have taken INSPIRATION from UKSF pictures, ranging from the old-school stuff to more modern stuff. With the aid of these images (which I will not add to this post since they are plentiful and readily available for people on the internet) I have built a set that suits my needs and gets the job done, so to speak. Without further ado, here it is. Kit list is at the end of this posting.

vf2umo8

vc1djqy

hzjxltp

4viiduk

gg9wykg

srzx6no

uf6fu4k

uiqhjbn

fx9domb

 

Let’s start with a more detailed description first, and then move on to a proper kit list.

I’m wearing a regular black beanie, which I have had for sometime. I have yet to buy a full-face pull down mask which would, in my opinion, be more fitting for the setup. Then again, it would be rather impractical for airsoft with the protective glasses that I use (note that I am not wearing any here as it was not ingame). Considering getting one but so far it has not materialized itself into my gearbunker.

My vest is a Arkits ‘Jungle Ops Vest’, also known as ‘Patrol Vest’ and more commonly sold as Arktis 1601 vest. I got it off from ebay a while back and I love this vest. I know some people frown when they hear the word Arktis but I have nothing bad to say about this vest. It performs well and it can carry a lot of stuff. It is probably the best vest I have owned and I like fixed-pouch vests more than I do MOLLE vests now-a-days. According to the seller this vest was used in Afghanistan by a PARA, but I am always skeptical about these claims. Nevertheless, I love it and it does its job well. The integrated belt loops inside the vest can take a regular PLCE belt, which I also use to keep the vest balanced. The pouches can take 6 STANAG mags with another 4 that can be fitted on the right side of the zipper (when looking down with the vest on). The smaller pouch next to it can be used as a small accessory pouch. I have my medical accessories, Letherman and other bits inside it, and also my cooking kit. The larger accessory pouch, when moving further right, can just about hold a 58 Pat Canteen. I use a US made canteen since it fits in better. This pouch will be modded to better accommodate the 58 canteen. There is one more pouch of this size on the left side, next to the ammo pouches. I use that for my rain poncho for the time being.

The smaller top pockets, from left to right (again with the vest on, looking down), I have my radio (not used in the pics) as well as my bowman replica. On the other pocket I have my field dressing. On the right side of the zipper I have my spare pistol mag, a flip-knife and a small penlight. On the larger zipper pockets both side of the main zipper I have some waterproof writing material and soft markers for making notes. I usually carry my compass tied to my smock jackets left pocket, through the button hole. I also have a carabiner for keeping stuff, like gloves, in the middle of the FA pockets. In these pictures I have my watch attached to my vest. I usually have it on my wrist, naturally, but this time it was left hanging on the vest. It’s not military issue, but it has served me well for the past 7 years while airsofting and it has sentimental value. Looks the part, though, in my opinion.

At the back, the vest has a mesh pouch which can hold a Camelback. This is a REALLY helpful bit of ingenuity as you can carry the Camelback inside your vest without any other means of carry needed. Naturally it will stick out from the mesh (if you use just the bladder, like I do) but a bit of DPM fabric will fix this right up. I use a olive dump pouch for my magazines, because this is airsoft. I do not have the money to throw away used mags and I have found that this is the most convenient way to place used mags in a fast manner. The black holster is a Bianchi with the ‘leg extender’, fitted onto my belt on my windproofs. Love that holster!

Under the vest, I have a ‘old style’ SAS Smock. I got a real deal out of this one on ebay and I honestly think it is the best smock I own. I own a total of 3, with the other two being the current issue DPM smocks. They are also great, but this old school smock has the ‘ally’ in it so I like it better. The cuffs have been but in to make the sleeves a bit longer, as they are a bit short to begin with. I have seen this being done so I considered it ‘issue’. The pockets on my smock will be filled with mission specific and personal items once I receive them. I try to keep it as real as possible.

The gloves I am wearing are NI gloves. I also have some thicker DPM ‘no-can-do’s’ but handling anything with those is, well, a no can do. These gloves are the best bet for winter and other cold times of the year. I do recommend them and they look great. Original issue S95 leather gloves will also suffice, but I recommend getting some mittens to be worn inside of them if it gets colder.

Under my smock I have a Norgie shirt and under that a green long-sleeved t-shirt. Worked really well for the weather we had during the photoshoot.

Trousers are Arctic Windproof Combat trousers from the 80’s. Another excellent piece of kit that I love! Thicker in material than the newer stuff and absolutely bullet-proof. Not really of course, just an expression. With some long johns under these you will be set.

My boots are not British issue as I have not yet located a pair for a decent price or a pair that is not worn down. They are black Finnish army M91 boots which I like a lot and they fit my rather wide feet well. For socks I use thinner moisture wicking socks at the skin and thicker boot socks on top of those. Never had problems with cold feet during the winter. I also have a pair of Merrel hiking boots that I use during the summer. Those along with gaiters (same goes for the boots that I have on in the pictures) when it gets colder and wet, very much recommended!

The ruck that I have is a Karrimor SF Sabre 30L patrol/day sack. It has one large main compartment that can also fit a Camelback (not used in these pictures) and also holds my basha with bungee cords, paracord, rain jacket (I use either a DPM GoreTex one or a OD Trakker Downpour jacket) and food. The smaller lid compartment is for my cam cream, flashlight (I also have on on my vest), batteries, ballistic goggles and everything mission specific and depending on the duration of the event, some spare socks etc. All this is tailored to the needs of the mission at hand. If resupply is done at base, I have some extra socks and maybe another t-shirt. If resupply is not available, I switch to my larger DPM Bergen which can hold all the stuff I need for any duration of an airsoft event (for example Berget, which is about 4 days).

I think that covers just about everything that I have on in the picture. Lastly, a few words about the weapons.

I have a G&P base M4 with parts from a lot of different manufacturers. I will make a seperate post about the L119A1 once I receive the correct front sight for it. I made one earlier, but that one is outdated and most of the parts described in that post are no longer relevant. Please stay tuned for the new one as I will list all the parts and take better images as well. I will not go into detail about the internals of the weapon as that is up to the player to decide. I run mine on about 123 (m/s) level and it works just fine.

My sidearm is a WE P226. In my personal opinion it is the best P226 on the market. Good solid internals and nice trigger pull and blowback. I can warmly recommend this to anyone. Mine is stock, I have not changed anything in it. I have used it for about 5-6 months now, and will be writing a review of it later on down the line.

I think that covers the main explanation about the kit. Below is a kit list.

Black beanie
SAS Smock
–Norgie Shirt
–Green T-shirt
NI Gloves
Arctic Windproof Trousers
–Green British Long Johns
M91 boots
Arktis 1601 Vest
–PLCE belt
–Bianchi Holster
Karrimor SF Sabre 30L Patrol/Day Pack

L119A1
P226

Leave a Reply

