The Conclusion of Project L119A1

When I started this AEG project about one and a half years ago, I did not anticipate it taking this long. The sourcing of parts for this projects proved to be quite difficult, and even still, there are some small details that are missing. One is the correct rademarks in the weapon. There are no receivers, that I know of, that would be correct for the L119A1. Mine is painted anyway, so I do not mind that much. If there ever will be a correct receiver for the weapon, I will buy one, of course.

Nevertheless, here it is. The “finished” L119A1. I will go through all the external parts of the weapon and not concentrate that much on the internals, as that is not the main idea behind this post. The idea is to show-off my L119A1 that I take pretty much pride in having finished.

Starting from the front towards the back, we have the Pro Arms L119A1 AEG barrel. This is not an extension but a full length barrel. The barrel is the correct length, so if you want to make a the shorter version, you can just unscrew the “extension” that starts after the front sight. then you would have a CQB version of the weapon. I always run my gun with the longer barrel, as I have a 363 length inner barrel in there. Though I think that the silencer would still fit though the barrel is a 363. Still, since I have the reinforced front sight, it would not be correct. Attached to the barrel is a regular bird cage flash hider. You can also use a Surefire FH556-F216A flash hider if you wish. These seem to be used in the more current L119A1 systems. I prefer the birdcage, to keep my L119A1 a bit more on the early Afghanistan setting for the SBS, since that is the main impression this weapon was originally built around.

Second up is the front sight. Sourcing this proved almost impossible, so I attempted to make one from a regular M4 front sight, using chemical metal. Outcome was horrible, so I binned the idea and decided to wait for a real one to come along. Through a forum, which I cannot remember, I read about a retailer that operates only through Facebook, called Warlord Tactical (you can find them by doing a Facebook search). They make a lot of parts for the L119A1, including the correct reinforced front sight. They also make the barrel for the L119A1, also in WE version, if you are sporting a GBBR. This sight is the correct one if you are doing the longer version of the weapon. If you run the CQB, you are better off using a regular M4 sight with the bayonet attachment slug filed off. From what I understand, the reinforced front sight is used in the longer once, because of the option of attaching a grenade launcher to the weapon. This is not needed on the CQB version. The sight is of high quality and it installed onto the Pro Arms barrel without any modifications needed. I can highly recommend these sights for anyone making an L119A1.

Next up, moving towards the end, is the RIS. I use a regular DBoys RIS, which has markings through 1-15. This is said to be the correct version for the L119A1. You can get another one as well, I just had this laying around at my bunker. There is some wobble on the RIS, but this seems to be the eternal problem with this weapon system. Can of course be fixed to be more solid, but I prefer not to use any big exterior mods to fix it as I like to keep this one as true to the original as possible. Attached to the RIS I have a Gripod. It is not an issued one but they also come up on Ebay quite ofter, for a very good price. So grabbing a bargain on those is not difficult. All kinds of grips seem to be used on the L119A1, but since this seems to be the “issued” one to other troops as well, I used it. I have also seen Knights Armament grips and Tango Down grips being used on the L119A1. I do not think that you can go very wrong with these.

Next up, the receiver. This is a G&P receiver without the correct trades. G&P also makes a C8 receiver from what I have heard, which is semi-correct for this weapon. I bought the receiver on a sale in WGC Shop, and it came with a gearbox. I have not done anything to the receiver other than paint it and it is solid. It takes my Cyma metal magazines of which I am very greateful. Nothing more painful than buying more magazines just because one weapon, which in real life takes the same ones, does not work well with the old ones. I do not have the DIS handle for the weapon. Not yet at least. I run an ACOG instead. The correct model for the L119A1 is the ACOG sight which does not have the illuminated reticle. I have made my L119A1 circa 2007 SAS/SBS style, and from pictures this is the correct. I have not looked into more modern variations, so this might not be true to the impression you are building. Always make sure before buying something or you might look back later, regretting that you did not research. My ACOG is a chinese clone which so far has performed as it should. The model is TA01, and is usually ran with the iron sights on top or with “wings” protecting a smaller red dot sight.

Still at the receiver, but lets move a bit downwards, to the grip. The grip on the L119A1 is different from the regular M4 grip. The L119A1 grip is thicker and it is often called the ‘Storm grip’ or ‘Stowaway grip’. Using these words on Google search will find you airsoft equivalents as well. Since my receiver is G&P, I bought the G&P grip. Guarder makes a copy as well though. The grip did not require any modification to fit into the receiver. There is plenty of room in the grip and I actually like this better than the regular M4 grip. It feels better and you get a better ‘grip’ with it as well. Really good!

You will also need a different sling attachment for your L119A1. Using anything else than the one “issued” with the weapon is deemed wrong in the internet world. If you strive to get an authentic look, you will need one that resembles or is the real one. Again, Warlord Tactical delivers. They make reproduction sling mounts for AEG and GBBR versions. The one that I have is not from them, unfortunately, but it is custom made. The specs on the one I have are not the exact ones, and I recommend getting the one Warlord Tactical has. Mine works but down the road, I will also upgrade to the Warlord one. I have not handeled one myself but they seem of good quality in pictures and reports are good so far.

Next up is the stock. The stock I use is again a G&P one, which is specifically made to accomodate a small LiPo battery inside it. In my old DBoys receiver, I had to cut down the end of the receiver where the stock tube attaches. On the G&P version this was already short enough, leaving room for the LiPo. There is also a end cap which can be screwed on at the end, to seal the tube. I have not had enough room to screw it on so I do not use it. I run a 7.4v 20C LiPo and it fits in well. The stock is an old CAR-15 type one. This is the correct model for the L119A1. Some have said to have seen Crane stocks and even Magpul stocks, but I would advice against them. The old style stock is usually a dead giveaway along with the reinforced barrel that the weapon is a L119A1. Of course the person identifying it should know something about the gun to know that it is something else than an M4. Along with the stock, you will beed a rubber stock pad. The only solution, if you are striving for authenticity, is to get the real one (hard, trust me) or buy one from Warlord Tactical (recommended!). They make reproduction rubber stock pads for the L119A1. Again, you need to search for them on Facebook and send them a message asking for pricing and shipping. I have not had problems with them, they always answer within 24 hours (for me at least) and ship fast and reliable. I used to have a Guarder Recoil Buttpad, which was close but not enough for me. Many will not notice the difference though. In any case, getting the repro one from Warlord is the best option.

A rather long post, but necessary. There is no short way of telling how to build an L119A1. Well, there is actually. You will need money and patience. Sourcing the parts for this project were the most time consuming elements. Building the weapon was not as tedious, as I bought parts here and there and then attached them to the weapon. I went through a few evolutions and my current form you can see below. I still need to paint the front sight to match the rest of the weapon but other than that, it is finished. Warlord Tactical (I know I am mentioning them quite a lot in this post, but for the L119A1 builder they are a must visit!) helped me finish this project off and I recommend checking them out on Facebook if you are building an L119A1. To finish this long post off, here are a few shots of the current form my L119A1 has taken.

p1040463

p1040461

p1040459
 

 

 

1 thought on “The Conclusion of Project L119A1”

Leave a Reply

