SBS in Afghanistan, Qala-i-Janghi, circa 2001

The opportunity for another photoshoot came last weekend. This time I decided to go with a setup for which I originally started my L119 build for. The 2001 era SBS operators in Afghanistan. I have taken some liberties at places, like the PLCE webbing instead of the OPS vest, since I like it better. Otherwise the gear is about the same as seen in pictures. DPM boonie because… I like it and I need to hide my blonde hair. I’ve been trying to source an Arktis Stowaway jacket that has been reported on some pics of the SBS but so far I have not had any luck. Instead I am using a Trakker downpour jacket. Boots are Lowa hiking boots, trousers are Craghoppers mass grey ones. For gloves I use my ever so great Mechanix M-Pact gloves, shirt under the jacket is an issue Norgie and on my neck I have a camo scarf. US Claymore bags have also been spotted on the SBS troopers. Personally I use this for my radio (not in picture this time) and as a dump pouch for empty magazines. Works well, and radios have also been seen carried in these bags by the SBS.

I have switched the RIS rails on my L119 for the slim hand guards that have been sometimes spotted, but not in the SBS images. I like these better personally and they are not accurate, I know. For my P226, I have my trusty Bianchi holster with the leg extender. Absolutely in love with that thing!

Without further ado, here are some pics. Scenery is hoped to at least somehow fit the scenery of Afghanistan but this being Finland, it is hard to find a good location for this theme.

Leave a Reply

